Old Earth Books   Contact OEB
  Order Books



Clifford D. Simak

City by Clifford D. Simak


by Clifford D. Simak

City was created from stories published in the 1940s.  It was first published by Gnome Press as a novel in 1952, and named the winner of the International Fantasy Award for the best science fiction novel of the year.

"Without Simak, science fiction would have been without its most humane element, its most humane spokesman for the wisdom of the ordinary person and the value of life lived close to the land."

– James Gunn

Order from PathwayHardcover • TEMPORARILY OUT OF STOCK • September 2004 • ISBN 1-882968-28-X • $27.00 USD

Way Station by Clifford D. Simak

Way Station

by Clifford D. Simak

This is the novel that garnered the 1963 Hugo Award for Clifford D. Simak, and has earned a special place in the hearts of countless readers who have enjoyed it over the years.  Rather than become dated, Way Station has remained timeless.

It's the story of Enoch Wallace, who fought in the Civil War and returned to the simple house where he was born, in rural Millville, Wisconsin.  He still resides there today, but Enoch hasn't aged since the war ended in 1865, and neither has his home, impregnable to any known weapon.  For years he has secretly manned a way station for a galactic federation's transit network, acting as Earth's unassuming diplomat to the stars.

"To read science fiction is to read Simak.  The reader who does not like Simak stories does not like science fiction at all."

– Robert A. Heinlein

Cover art Almost Home by Randy J. Lagana.  Book jacket design by Robert T. Garcia.

Order from Pathway Hardcover • September 2004 • ISBN 1-882968-27-1 • $27.00 USD

Available from our fulfillment company, Pathway Book Service

1-800-345-6665, pbs@pathywaybook.com


Visit our friends at

Darkside Press

The Collected Stories of Clifford D. Simak

Volume One: Eternity Lost & Other Stories

Edited by Phil Stephensen-Payne

Introduction by John Pelan

Clifford D. Simak produced over 140 short stories during his long and illustrious career.  Until now, there has never been an attempt to collect his entire output in book form.  Darkside Press has announce the first in a projected twelve-volume series, which will at long last gather all of the short fiction of Clifford D. Simak into book form.  Editor Phil Stephenson-Payne has painstakingly assembled twelve volumes with an eye toward each book serving as an overview of the great author's output.  Each volume will contain approximately 125,000 words and feature a mix of the well-known and the obscure.  Each volume will feature a guest introduction by a well-known author in the genre and each volume is strictly limited to 500 copies (as are all of Darkside Press titles).

Obviously this project will take several years for completion as these titles will be interspersed with the other Darkside Press releases.  For those wishing to support this project and guard against possible price increases, Darkside Press is offering a subscription plan.  $400.00 will guarantee a full set of matching numbered volumes.  You get two books free and a matched set!

For payment instructions e-mail jpelan@qwest.net.

Eternity Lost & Other Stories will be available for $45.00 USD

Eternity Lost & Other Stories by Clifford D. Simak
Return to OEB Home Page

Old Earth Books
PO Box 19951
Baltimore, MD 21211-0951

Contact the Webmaster
updated 10 March 2007